Athlete Agent Laws and Registration Requirements by State


State (link to the law) Trial required? Costs surety bond Other things to note Arkansas Nope $500 for a new license. $500 if renewal. $100 if based on application from another state Apply here Alabama Nope $200 initial application fee, reduced to $100 if registered in another state that meets AL standards; $100 renewal fee if registered in AL or another state that meets AL standards The Commission only meets quarterly to review applications; link to application Alaska no law Arizona Nope California Nope Filing of disclosure statement: $30; Filing of an amendment to a disclosure statement: $20; more about fees $100,000 California requires the filing of a disclosure statement; Colorado Nope Nope Not required The Registration Act has been repealed Connecticut Nope $200 for initial registration and for two-year renewal. The same fees apply for registration that began in another state. $100,000 Delaware Nope Nope Not required The Registration Act has been repealed District of Colombia $400 initial fee; $400 renewal fee Application Instructions’ here Florida Nope $630 initial application fee; $220 renewal fee in even years; $505 reinstatement fee Apply here; you can get a temporary athlete agent license while the application is pending, but only for 60 days with no extension Georgia Nope $200 initial application fee; $250 annual renewal fee; $500 reinstatement $10,000 Apply here Hawaii Nope Depends on the year: if it is an even year, the fee is $357; if the year is odd, the fee is $497. Must renew the license before June 30 of each even year. More information Not required Apply here Idaho Nope Nope Not required The Registration Act has been repealed Illinois Nope Nope Not required The Registration Act has been repealed – the license issued by the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation is no longer required. Indiana Nope Deposit fee of $700 by check or money order Not required Apply here. A person can act as an agent without being registered as an agent if: the athlete initiates the contact, and no later than one week after the first contact, the person has submitted an application to become an agent. Iowa Nope $500 registration and $500 for renewals $25,000 Apply here Kansas Nope $515 Not required Apply here Kentucky Nope $300 for an initial request and $200 for the renewal request from Kentucky; $250 for an initial application and a renewal application with a license from outside Kentucky Not required Apply here Louisiana Must be certified by the relevant players association before an individual can apply for agent registration $100 application fee Not required Apply here. A lawyer licensed to practice under the Louisiana State Bar and an active member of the Louisiana Bar Association is not required to pay registration fees. The lawyer must pay his annual dues and be in good standing. Maine No laws found Maryland Nope $25 to send with initial request; if approved, an invoice will be sent for an additional $1,000 Apply here. Check with the State Department to see if a bond is required, not specifically stated in the law. However, they are available for purchase as shown on the linked link. Massachusetts No laws found Michigan No laws found NIL law mentions agents but no requirement Minnesota Nope $500 for the initial application fee; $400 for renewal fees Not required Apply here Mississippi Nope $200 for the initial request; $200 renewal fee; Not required Apply here Missouri Nope Registration fee: $70.00; State Criminal Record Check: $20.00; Federal Criminal Record Check: $13.25 Not required Apply here Montana Nope Not required Nebraska Nope $300 for a first request (valid for two years); $150 renewal fee every two years Not required Apply here Nevada Nope $500 for initial registration and renewal Apply here. In lieu of the bond requirement, a registrant or business entity may post an appropriate criminal cash bond with the Secretary of State. New Hampshire Nope $100 application fee; biennial renewal $50; More info here Not required Apply here New Jersey No laws found New Mexico Nope $250 for the initial request; $250 for renewal Not required Apply here New York Nope $100 for initial registration application (registration is for two years); $50 for a renewal request Not required Apply here. If a person is licensed in another state, they can submit a copy of their original application and certificate instead of filing a new application. North Carolina initial deposit fee of $200; $200 annual renewal fee Not required Apply here. Registration is not required if you are a licensed NC attorney, who is a resident of NC, who represents no more than two student-athletes, and you do not advertise or claim to be qualified to represent student-athletes. North Dakota Nope $250 for the initial application fee; $150 for in-state and out-of-state renewal Not required Apply here Ohio Nope $500 for an individual license and/or $500 for a commercial entity license (both individual and commercial licenses last 2 years); $500 renewal fee Bond of $15,000 OR a certificate of deposit of $15,000 in an account assigned to the State of Ohio OR a certificate of agents insurance evidencing that they have a malpractice insurance policy equal or greater than $50,000, or less than if approved by the Ohio Athletic Commission Apply here Oklahoma Nope $1,000 for initial application and renewal $50,000 Apply here Oregon Nope $250 for the initial application fee; $150 for the renewal application fee; $150 initial request based on qualifying state registration; $150 for a renewal request based on qualifying state registration Not required Apply here Pennsylvania Nope For initial registration and renewal: $200 for an individual application or $400 for a partnership, association, corporation or other legal entity; $100 processing fee A bond or other guarantee of at least $20,000 Apply here. Criminal record check also required. Rhode Island Nope $50 for the initial request; $25 for a renewal request Not required Apply here Caroline from the south Nope initial request of $1,500 per agent; $700 renewal fee every two years Not required Company/organization application here; Employee/agent application here South Dakota Nope $100 for the initial state request; $50 for an application previously registered in another state; $25 renewal fee Not required Apply here Tennessee Nope $500 for the first registration; $200 renewal fee Bond of $25,000 Apply here Texas Nope $500 application fee; $500 per year renewal fee $50,000; a separate bond of $100,000 if you provide financial services under a financial services contract; form here Apply here Utah Nope $510 application fee Not required Manual application here; Apply online here Vermont No laws found Virginia Nope For a one-year registration or renewal, the fee is $700; For a two-year registration, the fee is $1,150 Not required Apply here. A temporary registration certificate may be issued to a person while their application for registration or renewal is pending. Washington Nope Nope Not required Athlete Agent Disclosure Form Requirements West Virginia Nope $100 for initial registration fee; $50 for renewal Not required Manual application here. Create an online account to apply here. A temporary registration certificate may be issued to a person while their application for registration or renewal is pending. Wisconsin Nope $700 for registration or renewal (lasts two years) Not required Apply here Wyoming Nope Nope Not required
Previous Large companies forced to innovate due to supply chain disruption: IFS study
Next IFPA Announces Chef José Andrés as Keynote Speaker at Global Produce & Floral Show